Canada announces team for World Team Trophy

World champs Virtue and Moir, Chan headline eight-member squad

Patric Chan will try to improve on his fourth-place finish at the last World Team Trophy.
Patric Chan will try to improve on his fourth-place finish at the last World Team Trophy. (Getty Images)


Top Headlines
By Skate Canada
(04/04/2012) - As one of the top figure skating nations in the world, Canada has qualified for the 2012 World Team Trophy, which will take place April 19-22 in Tokyo, Japan.

Two-time world ice dancing champions Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir, and two-time world men's champion Patrick Chan will lead the Canadian team. Joining them will be Canadian ladies champion Amélie Lacoste, Canadian pairs champions Meagan Duhamel and Eric Radford, and the two Canadian singles silver medalists, Kevin Reynolds and Cynthia Phaneuf.

The six-country competition will include teams from Japan, France, Italy, Russia and the USA. Each country will each send eight-member teams of two ladies, two men, one pair and one ice dancing couple. Skaters compete in their disciplines with short programs/dance and free skates/dance as usual. After the results, they receive placement points, which are then added together, and the team with the highest point total will win the title.

Countries qualify for the event based on individual skaters' results across the 2011-12 season. Points were accumulated from placements of a country's top skaters at the 2012 World Figure Skating Championships, the Grand Prix of Figure Skating Series and Final, plus the European Figure Skating Championships, the Four Continents Figure Skating Championships, the World Junior Figure Skating Championships and the Junior Grand Prix of Figure Skating Series and Final. Teams will compete for a total of $1 million in prize money.

A modified version of this team event has been added to the Olympic schedule, and this event will give a preview of what to expect when it is competed for the first time at the 2014 Olympic Winter Games in Sochi, Russia.

Canada finished second at the inaugural World Team Trophy, won by the USA, in 2009. This event was scheduled for last April in Japan, but was postponed following the earthquake and tsunami in March 2011.