Kwan on World Figure Skating Hall of Fame ballot

Electees to Class of 2012 to be announced March 13 on

Michelle Kwan beams during her on-ice recognition at the 2012 U.S. Championships.
Michelle Kwan beams during her on-ice recognition at the 2012 U.S. Championships. (Getty Images)


Related Content Top Headlines
(02/22/2012) - It looks as though the Kween has another honor coming her way.

Michelle Kwan -- the most decorated figure skater in U.S. history, with nine national titles, five world championships and two Olympic medals to her credit -- is a first-time nominee for the World Figure Skating Hall of Fame.

With her list of accomplishments rivaling that of anyone in the sport's history, her induction is a virtual certainty.

The Southern California native, who serves as a public diplomacy envoy for the U.S. Department of State, already has been inducted into one hall of fame this year: the U.S. Figure Skating Hall of Fame. That took place last month at the 2012 Prudential U.S. Figure Skating Championships in San Jose, Calif.

Other notables on this year's ballot include six-time U.S. champion and 1996 world champion Todd Eldredge; Tai Babilonia and Randy Gardner, one of only two U.S. pairs teams to win a world title; and choreographer Lori Nichol, whose list of clients reads as a who's who of skating greats and includes, fittingly, Kwan.

The electees to the Class of 2012 will be announced March 13 on

The World Figure Skating Hall of Fame was established in 1976 to honor individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the sport of figure skating around the world. Nominees may be inducted for accomplishments as competitors, coaches or for other significant contributions. To be considered, a competitive nominee must be retired from eligible skating for at least five seasons.


CATEGORY A: Outstanding Competitor - Ladies

  • Denise Biellmann
  • Sjoukje Dijkstra
  • Michelle Kwan

    CATEGORY A: Outstanding Competitor - Men

  • Todd Eldredge
  • Tim Wood

    CATEGORY A: Outstanding Competitor - Pairs

  • Tai Babilonia & Randy Gardner
  • Artur Dmitriev & Natalia Mishkutenok & Oksana Kazakova

    CATEGORY A: Outstanding Competitor - Ice Dancing

  • Natalia Bestemianova & Andrei Bukin
  • Doreen Denney

    CATEGORY B: Outstanding Contributor (non-athletic role)

    CATEGORY C: Outstanding Contributor (creative impact)

  • Hans Rudi Mauch ("Mr. Frack")
  • Lori Nichol

    CATEGORY D: The Golden (Pre-World War II)

  • Viktor Balck
  • Ludowika Eilers & Walter Jakobsson