Press Release

Spokane will host 12 U.S. Olympic champions


Press Releases
(12/16/2009) - COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - U.S. Figure Skating announced today that all 12 U.S. Olympic figure skating champions will attend the 2010 AT&T U.S. Figure Skating Championships in Spokane, Wash.

The gold medalists will participate in an on-ice presentation during the Smucker's Skating Spectacular on Sunday, Jan. 24, and will attend a "Destination Vancouver" fundraising dinner later that evening at the Davenport Hotel. Details on the dinner, including how to purchase tickets to it, will be announced later this week.

The Olympic champions scheduled to appear are Dick Button (1948, 52), Tenley Albright (1956), Hayes Jenkins (1956), Carol Heiss Jenkins (1960), David Jenkins (1960), Peggy Fleming (1968), Dorothy Hamill (1976), Scott Hamilton (1984), Brian Boitano (1988), Kristi Yamaguchi (1992), Tara Lipinski (1998) and Sarah Hughes (2002).

The U.S. Figure Skating Championships, held annually since 1914, is the nation's most prestigious figure skating event. The 2010 competition will take place Jan. 14-24 at the Spokane Arena and be televised live on NBC and webcast on

Over the course of 10 days, the event will crown 12 national champions in ladies, men's, pairs and ice dancing on the senior, junior and novice levels. The championships are the final event before the selection of the figure skating team that will compete for the United States at the 2010 Olympic Winter Games in Vancouver, British Columbia.