Ice Network

Olympic qualification ends on final day in Germany

Six ladies, dance teams cement placement at 2018 Olympic Winter Games
  • Ice Network on Facebook
  • Ice Network on Twitter
By winning the dance title at the 2017 Nebelhorn Trophy on Saturday, Penny Coomes and Nicholas Buckland secured a berth at the 2018 Olympic Winter Games for Great Britain. -Getty Images

Six dance teams, led by Great Britain's Penny Coomes and Nicholas Buckland, secured their places at the 2018 Olympic Winter Games on Saturday at the 2017 Nebelhorn Trophy in Oberstdorf, Germany. In the ladies competition, six additional skaters locked up spots for their countries as well, including Australia's Kailani Craine, who won the gold medal.


Despite finishing second in the free skate after a winning short program, Craine was able to hang onto the top spot, while securing Australia's place at the aforementioned Winter Games in the process.

Landing second on the podium was Matilda Algotsson, who won the segment by earning a personal-best mark of 110.10 for her free skate, which was set to music by Big Bad Voodoo Daddy and Mack Gordon. With the runner-up finish, Algotsson solidified an Olympic slot for Sweden.

Alexia Paganini moved from sixth after the short program to capture the bronze medal, as well as an Olympic spot for Switzerland.

Brazil's Isadora Williams, Viveca Lindfors of Finland and Ukraine's Anna Khnychenkova were the final three skaters to earn placement for their respective countries.

Ice Dance

Thanks to collecting personal-best marks in the free dance (105.34) and event total (177.13), Coomes and Buckland won the gold medal, while also clinching a spot for Great Britain in PyeongChang.

Finishing second in Oberstdorf was Kana Muramoto and Chris Reed. The Japanese team earned a new personal-best score of 96.63 for their free dance and a fresh overall total of 159.30, and their efforts locked up a position for Japan.

Germany's Kavita Lorenz and Joti Polizoakis earned the bronze medal, a performance that was more than good enough to send Germany to the Winter Games.

In addition to teams from Great Britain, Japan and Germany, Republic of Korea (Yura Min and Alexander Gamelin), Czech Republic (Cortney Mansour and Michal Ceska), and Slovakia (Lucie Mysliveckova and Lukas Csolley) all carved a path to PyeongChang with top six finishes.

Americans Karina Manta and Joseph Johnson finished 14th in the final standings with 126.48 points.