Ice Network

Davis, Chmerkovskiy win 'Dancing with the Stars'

Ice dancer joins Yamaguchi as only skaters to capture mirror ball trophy
  • Ice Network on Facebook
  • Ice Network on Twitter
Meryl Davis and Maksim Chmrekovskiy are hoisted up on the shoulders of their competitors after winning Season 18 of 'Dancing with the Stars.'

Kristi Yamaguchi has company.

Olympic gold medalist ice dancer Meryl Davis and Maksim Chmerkovskiy were declared the winners of Season 18 of Dancing with the Stars on Tuesday night. Davis joins Yamaguchi as the only figure skaters to win the coveted mirror ball trophy. Evan Lysacek, the 2010 Olympic champion, finished runner-up in Season 10.

Davis and Chmerkovskiy -- affectionately termed "Meryl and Maks" -- established themselves as the front-runners early on, and found themselves in Tuesday's final along with Paralympic snowboarder Amy Purdy and Derek Hough, and actress Candace Cameron Bure and Mark Ballas.

The winning duo solidified their victory by receiving a perfect score of 90 for their three dances over the course of the two-day finale: an Argentine Tango, a contemporary freestyle and a foxtrot/cha cha fusion.

It was Chmerkovskiy's first win on the show, and he was noticeably emotional afterward.

"To do it with Meryl is a dream come true," the veteran DWTS professional said. "There's a reason why it didn't happen before. It's because this was meant to happen with this one (Davis)."

Purdy finished second, and Cameron Bure took third.