Ice Network

Canada, Russia, USA lead 10 nations in team event

Japan, Italy, France, China, Germany, Ukraine, Britain also qualify
  • Ice Network on Facebook
  • Ice Network on Twitter
Team USA is among the 10 nations selected for the Olympic team event. -Getty Images

For the first time in history, a figure skating team event will be included in the Olympic program. Up to 10 International Skating Union (ISU) members are eligible to qualify based on points earned by their best skaters at the 2013 World Figure Skating Championships and 2013 Grand Prix Series, along with other ISU events.

The 10 teams have been announced as follows:

Canada (6053 points), Russia (5459 points), USA (5274 points), Japan (4062 points), Italy (3707 points), France (3626 points), China (3609 points), Germany (3596 points) and Ukraine (1528 points), Great Britain (1261 points).

Two teams are on standby: Australia and Estonia.

The five top teams after the short programs/dance will proceed to the free skate/dance. Teams may switch up to two members between the segments. In general, only skaters or couples already qualified for the individual events at the Olympic Winter Games will compete. However, in order to complete a team, a nation -- if necessary and applicable -- can make one entry (for one discipline) according to the "Additional Athletes Quota." Each team must participate in at least three disciplines.